Queensland closes its borders


Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has announced hard border closures will come into effect from 1am on Saturday 8 August.

Queensland’s Chief Health Officer has declared all of New South Wales and the ACT as COVID-19 hotspots. Only residents of border communities and essential workers, such as truck drivers, will be able to cross the border.

Queensland residents will be able to return home but will have to pay for 14 days of mandatory hotel quarantine.

Ms Palaszczuk said the border closure would be reviewed at the end of the August.

For a summary of the latest border protocols, courtesy of the QTA, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend