Truckies in crosshairs of 11 new speed cameras being rolled out in Sydney

speed cameras

Under a new NSW road safety plan, truckies will have to negotiate 11 new point-to-point speed cameras in Sydney by the end of the year.

The new sites being installed are:

Cross City Tunnel – between Sydney and Darlinghurst
Eastern Distributor – between Zetland and Sydney
Lane Cove Tunnel – between Artarmon and Lane Cove North
M2 Motorway – between Lane Cove North and Baulkham Hills
M5 Motorway – between Kingsgrove and Casula
M5 East Tunnel – between Arncliffe and Kingsgrove
M7 Motorway – between Baulkham Hills and Prestons
NorthConnex Tunnel – between West Pennant Hills and Wahroonga
Sydney Harbour Tunnel – between Sydney and North Sydney
WestConnex M4 – between Ashfield and Lidcombe
WestConnex M4/M5 Link Tunnel – between Ashfield and St Peters

Transport for NSW said the new cameras that aren’t in tunnels will operate in warning mode for the first two months, while the tunnel cameras had a warning period of just one month. After that, fines and demerits will apply.

The speed cameras are being installed as part of the NSW Government’s Road Safety Plan 2021, and are already operational in the newly-opened M8 WestConnex tunnels.

“Speeding is the biggest cause of crashes on NSW roads and the consequences of a crash involving a speeding heavy vehicle will be much more serious because of their size and weight,” explained Tara McCarthy, the Transport for NSW Deputy Secretary for Safety, Environment and Regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend