Lights on the Hill Memorial Convoy set to return

On October 2, the Lights on the Hill Memorial Convoy will once again snake its way through Toowoomba and Brisbane to converge on the Gatton Showgrounds in memory of drivers who have passed away.

Last year, the convoy couldn’t go ahead, due to the uncertainties that surrounded the evolving Covid-19 situation. Although, it is still a concern 12 months on, the committee is focussed on trying to ensure that the transport industry is celebrated for carrying Australia through this pandemic. 

No other industry must continually jump through so many hoops to continue to do their job safely, and this has never been more evident than with the intrastate lockdowns and ever-changing rules and regulations that comes with the covid-19 pandemic.

The memorial convoy will depart at 9.30am from the corner of Whimbrel Street and Sandpiper Avenue at the Port of Brisbane; and Brown and Hurley on Carrington Road, Toowoomba. 

With special thanks to the assistance of Scott Buchholz MP and Gary Mahon, president of the QTA, who worked with Queensland Police commissioner and Transport and Main Roads, the Toowoomba convoy has been given special allowance to travel for the first time since 2015 through Toowoomba and down the Toowoomba Range through Withcott. Many of the drivers who take part in the event have been wanting this to happen for some time and it’s sure to be a spectacle. 

The Showgrounds will once again have live music, a market, food and trade stalls, as well as kids rides, a truck show, charity auction and bar. To ensure the event is Covid safe, only online tickets are available.

The annual memorial service will be held on October 3, commencing from 10am at the Lake Apex Memorial wall. It is a free event and anyone is welcome to attend, however online bookings are essential. The service will also be live streamed for anyone who is unable to attend. 

The drivers whose names will be placed on the wall this year are:

Michael George ABBOTT ‘Mick’

David John BALL ‘Balls’

Gary John BARLOW ‘Barlow’

Dean Anthony BATCHELOR ‘Furry’

Allan William BELL ‘Belly’

Godfrey Lyle BERRY ‘Lyle’

Ronald Patrick BLAKE ‘The Hat’

Michael Rodney BOURKE ‘Bourkey’

Stephen James BOWEN ‘Steve’

Norman Charles BRADLEY ‘Tiger’

Gregory Paul CHERRY ‘Chez’

Errol John CLEM ‘Clemy’

Kenneth John COLLIER ‘Tiny’

James Kenneth John COOP ‘Jamie’

Maurice John COWEN ‘Maurie’

Eric John CRANE ‘Pigme’


Gregory Craig EDWARDS ‘Greggy’


Harold GIMM ‘Bill’

Ian Thomas GREEN ‘Greeny’

David William HADDON 

Kenneth Roy Carthew HADDON

John Joseph HILES ‘Jonny’

James Fredrick HINDLE ‘Jimbo’

Leon Thomas HOLSTEIN 

Mark Raymond JOHNSON 

Kevin Eric JONES ‘Rocker’

Jared KAREZ ‘Jad’

William Roy KRAUSE ‘Billy’ 

John Graham LEGGATT ‘Leggy’

John Arthur MCKENZIE ‘Johnny’

Arnold Ronald MERKER ‘Ronnie’

Bernard Edward MYLES ‘Bernie’ 

Henry George PAINTER ‘Charlie’

Raymond PEPPER ‘Doc’

Jason Andrew SHARD ‘Shardy’

Alan Trevor SHIMMIN ‘Sambo’

Bert RAINER ‘Bakko’

Shane Francis RANKIN 


Geoffrey Alexander ROWE ‘Geoff’

Terrence Rodney STEINHARDT ‘Terry’

Reuben Neil STEVENSON ‘Neil’ or ‘Stevo’


Nathan Kyle TURNER ‘Mini Hole’

Callan John WATTS ‘Wattsy’

Warren Dale WEIER ‘Wazz’ or ‘Wazza’

Barry James WHITE 

Lester George WILKINS ‘Joe’

Kenneth John WILSON ‘Ken’

Edwin WOLFENDEN ‘Eddie’

Kevin Anthony YOUNG 

May they all rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend