Celebrating trucking’s quiet achievers

Over the past two years, people working in the trucking industry have shouldered much of the responsibility of keeping Australia moving.

They’ve weathered Covid-19 lockdowns and lock outs, bushfires, fuel shortages and more. 

Now as we emerge from the Covid cloud, it’s the time to celebrate these quiet achievers at the 2022 National Trucking Industry Awards, to be held during the Trucking Australia conference at The Star on the Gold Coast from May 4-6.

Nominations for the 2022 National Trucking Industry Awards are open in the following categories: 

• Outstanding Contribution to the Trucking Industry 

• National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year 

• National Professional Driver of the Year

• National Training Excellence Award

You just need to look at our past winners to understand the calibre of people we have in our industry. 

The current holder of the ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry’ award, Robert Cavanagh is a perfect example. 

Robert has worked in the rural transport industry since he became a truck driver in 1985. He’s now renowned as an expert in livestock transport and known for his capacity for future thinking, ability to adapt to change and as an early adopter of technology and modern business practices.

Roslyn Anderson is another great example of the best and brightest in our industry. She is the reigning National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year, thanks to her years of the service to the industry. 

Roslyn became committed to road safety after working for a smash repairer and seeing the damage a truck crash can do. Roslyn is also the Vice Chair and Treasurer of Women in Trucking Australia and is a certified practicing accountant.

The current National Professional Driver of the Year is Russell Lee who has been driving road trains for more than 31 years. 

Russell started his Australian based driving career working for a small BP distributor in Darwin, Australian Fuel Distributors and now drives quad road trains between Darwin and Alice Springs carting more than 140,000 litres per load.

The 2022 National Trucking Industry Awards will be presented at Trucking Australia 2022, to be held from May 4-6 at The Star, Gold Coast, during the ATA Foundation Sponsors Gala Awards Dinner. 

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award and the Don Watson Memorial Award will also be presented on the night.

To nominate your candidate, just visit new.truck.net.au/ntia. Nominations close on April 1.

At Trucking Australia, you will have the opportunity to participate in our exclusive workshops and panel discussions as we explore the challenges and future innovation for the industry. 

When the business sessions are over, you’ll be able to enjoy our social events and network with new and old colleagues in a city like no other. 

Be sure to register now to access our limited time discount of $100 off our MEGA deal and full conference pass tickets.  

 Other registration and social packages, including our business sessions only, are also available. 

The event at The Star will help the industry make up for lost time.

We’ve had two years of Covid where we’ve all been battling in our respective bubbles.

Now’s the time to come back together to work on the issues we really need to discuss like driver shortages and the supply chain.

Trucking Australia will be such a great opportunity to have your say and help shape the direction of our industry.

See our website (truck.net.au) for more information.

“The ATA is looking forward to a great conference with valuable, interactive and engaging sessions.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend