Heavy vehicle farm gate access to become permanent

Following a successful trial in six pilot areas across NSW, the Farm Gate Access network will become permanent, aimed at allowing farmers and freight operators to more easily move produce from the farm gate to market.

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Sam Farraway says the move will improve access to local roads for heavy vehicles and cut red-tape by reducing the need to apply for access permits.

“The trial of the Farm Gate Access network has been a success for both industry and local government, and provides councils better insight into freight movements on their roads,” Farraway said.

“Modern heavy vehicles are fitted with telematics which provides both the operators and councils an accurate picture of their movement and can be used to base road upgrade priorities on.

“For the farmer and transport operators, the scheme significantly cuts the red tape of making a permit application every time they want to use a local road often to the farm’s front gate.

The network was developed by Transport for NSW, Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association, NSW Farmers and partnering councils.

Farraway says it’s a win-win for all involved. “With the trial becoming permanent, we expect more councils to take advantage of what telematics data can offer which will drive productivity improvement in our regions.”

President of Livestock Bulk & Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) Paul Pulver added that the organisation is proud to be a part of the initiative.

“The NSW Farm Gate Access Network will increase productivity and economy of task for transporters and deliver strong safety benefits for local communities by reducing the number of freight movements and reducing the cost of business,” said Pulver.

“Less road movements, less pollution, lower operating costs equals safer roads, better loads and less red tape.”

Currently there are 12 regional councils across NSW and over 135 vehicles participating in the initiative.

The councils currently participating in the scheme are:

  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
  • Leeton Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • Berrigan Shire Council
  • Hay Shire Council
  • Liverpool Plains Shire Council
  • Coolamon Shire Council
  • Gunnedah Shire Council
  • Junee Shire Council
  • Narrandera Shire Council
  • Tamworth Regional Council
  • Temora Shire Council

Further information about the Farm Gate Access scheme can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend