Winners revealed at Australian Freight Industry Awards


After a three-year hiatus, the Australian Freight Industry Awards was celebrated in person at the weekend, with close to 700 guests gathering at Crown Melbourne on Saturday, September 3.

Surpassing a record number of nominations lodged in 2020 – when the awards were presented virtually – over 60 nominations were submitted this year from small, medium and large operators in recognition of the achievements of transport operator and supplier companies and individuals across a range of categories.

The winners were:

  • Colin Rees, Personality of the Year Award – sponsored by CMV Truck & Bus;
  • Cara Spencer, Alex Fraser Group and Transport Women Australia, Female Leadership Award  – sponsored by Viva Energy Australia;
  • Claudia Jennings, Linfox, Young Achiever of the Year Award – sponsored by Daimler Truck & Bus;
  • SEA Electric, Sustainable Environment Award – sponsored by National Transport Insurance;
  • Knorr Bremse Australia, Application of Technology Award – sponsored by Transport Certification Australia;
  • Wettenhalls, Best Practice Safety Award – sponsored by Gallagher; and
  • Qube Bulk Pty Ltd, Investment in People Award – sponsored by Logical Staffing Solutions.

“It was a pleasure to host dignitaries from state and federal governments, along with VTA life members, councillors and hundreds of VTA members and transport industry operators and suppliers, who were keen to get together for a night of celebration unlike any other in our industry,” said VTA CEO Peter Anderson.

“Every one of our winners and finalists should be proud of their accomplishments, and particularly that they were achieved during a time of great challenge and uncertainty in people’s professional and personal lives.

“Their endurance, commitment and effort are reflective of every transport worker that has stood up and served our communities over the past three years, and it was terrific to recognise that in person at our awards presentation.”

Anderson also thanked guests for their hard work and tenacity in serving the Australian community during the pandemic.

“In front of our largest audience for over two years, it would be remiss not to acknowledge the women and men of the Australian transport industry who have worked so tirelessly during such difficult conditions.

“To our members, operators and their staff, industry suppliers and all the businesses in the supply chain that kept our country moving, thank you for your service, your endurance, commitment, and effort, and for delivering to the people of Australia no matter the challenge,” he said.

Australian Freight Industry Awards Chairman and VTA president Mike Lean addressed guests, speaking of the many contributions the industry has made in recent times, as well as VTA advocacy for positive change.

“We’re continuing to help alleviate driver shortages, with the Freight Workforce Innovation project seeing 125 women trained, placed and mentored into building careers in transport and logistics, and our ongoing advocacy for policy change to attract qualified transport workers under the Commonwealth’s skilled migration program,” Lean said.

“Recognising the faster shift to decarbonising the community under all governments, our recent Alternative Fuels Summit tackled the issue head-on, and the Association continues to constructively work through its affiliations with ARTIO to develop and implement a new minimum standards framework.”

Lean congratulated award winners on behalf of the VTA Executive Council.

“Surpassing our previous record with over 60 entries is just a tremendous endorsement of what it means to win or be shortlisted for an Australian Freight Industry Award. I congratulate all of those companies and individuals who are working so hard to improve their businesses,” Lean said.

Following the presentation of awards, proudly sponsored by TWUSUPER and Viva Energy Australia, guests were treated to a night of fine food and entertainment from Australian rock royalty, including Taxi Ride’s Jason Singh, Boom Crash Opera’s Dale Ryder, Bachelor Girl’s Tania Doko, and The Choirboys’ Mark Gable.

The Australian Freight Industry Awards will return in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend