Nominations are now open for prestigious awards

Nominations are now open for the prestigious 2024 Women in Industry Awards to be held in Sydney on June 20, 2024.

There are 11 categories in all, including the Excellence in Transport prize, which this year was won by Transport Women Australia Limited (TWAL) vice-chair Coralie Chapman from Humes Concrete Products.

TWAL chair and Big Rigs columnist Jacquelene Brotherton is also a past winner of the same honour.

The other categories up for grabs are: Excellence in manufacturing; Excellence in Engineering; Excellence in Construction; Rising Star of the Year; Industry Advocate Award; Women of the Year; Excellence in Mining; Mentor of the Year; Safety Advocacy Award; and Business Development Success of the Year.

The 2023 event saw a record 160 nominations across 10 categories, a 95 per cent growth from 2022, with massive media coverage post-event from 32 individual mastheads.

The gala dinner also sold out for the first time in its history, recording an impressive 55 per cent attendance spike from the previous ceremony.

Early interest in the 2024 iteration is again encouraging, say organisers Prime Creative Media, with several sponsors already signing on to support feature award categories.

Here’s what they have to say about their involvement so far.

Fulton Hogan – Woman of the Year

“Fulton Hogan are proud to sponsor the Women in Industry – Women of the Year award for another year in 2024. This sponsorship demonstrates our commitment to supporting and driving change within predominantly male industries, doing what we can to make heavy industry more attractive and accessible for women to join and stay. Fulton Hogan recognises that diversity is not only essential for us to change, adapt and grow, but it also good for business and results in happier workplaces with a better culture leading to better retention of our people.”Graeme Johnson – Fulton Hogan Australia CEO

PACCAR – Excellence in Manufacturing 

“PACCAR has a long and proud history of supporting women in all areas of its global businesses and recognises programs such as Women in Industry Awards help promote women more broadly than its own company and industry. Being part of the awards helps us further our goal of celebrating and championing inclusion and diversity in the workplace.” – Michael Long, director sales and marketing, PACCAR Australia.

SEW-DRIVE – Excellence in Engineering

“Knowing how vital gender diversity is in our manufacturing industry drives us to work together to recognise women’s work and support them in fulfilling their goals. Once again, we have the pleasure of sponsoring the Women in Industry in 2024” – Laura Arias – Senior HR Business Partner

ATLAS COPCO – Rising Star of the Year

“The awards are an opportunity to recognise the contribution of women in industry and their amazing examples for the next generations. Atlas Copco sponsors the awards to show our commitment to females in non-traditional industries and how we can find a better way towards equal representation. We love taking our team to the celebration and showing them the example that is set by all of these amazing women.” – Fiona Halliday, HR business partner 

KOMATSU – Industry Advocacy Award

“We take great pride in supporting the Women in Industry Awards, a program dedicated to championing the success of women in mining. Our participation reflects our company’s commitment to fostering an environment where women’s contributions are not only acknowledged but also celebrated.” – Christine Morris, director strategy & performance at Komatsu Mining

Sponsorship opportunities are still available for the eagerly anticipated 2024 event so anyone interested is encouraged to visit womeninindustry.com.au/sponsors.

For more details on how to nominate someone you know for a prize, click here. Nominations will close on Friday April 19, 2024.

Coralie Chapman from Humes Concrete Products won the 2023 Excellence in Transport prize.

The 2023 Women In Industry Award winners were:

  • Business Development Success of the Year Award – Stefanie Frawley from TMX Global
  • Excellence in Construction Award – Trudy Grimshaw from Department of Finance, Western Australia
  • Excellence in Engineering Award – Elsa Antunes from James Cook University
  • Excellence in Manufacturing Award – Kristi Riordan from Harvest B
  • Excellence in Mining Award – Ashara Moore from BHP
  • Excellence in Transport Award – Coralie Chapman from Humes Concrete Products
  • Industry Advocacy Award – Jemma Walshe from Fulton Hogan
  • Mentor of the Year Award – Teagan Dowler from The BCW
  • Rising Star of the Year Award – Sophia Kurianski from Jinolo
  • Safety Advocacy Award – Giselle Phillips from Fredon QLD
  • Woman of the Year Award – Giselle Phillips from Fredon QLD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend