Key SA freight routes to benefit from $168 million safety upgrade package

Regional roads in South Australia will share in $168 million in funding for safety upgrades; with works to begin in April.

Upgrades will include shoulder sealing, curve widening, safety barrier installation, hazard removal and audio tactile line marking (ATLM)

Regions covered include the Yorke Peninsula, Murraylands, Mid North, Eyre Peninsula and Fleurieu Peninsula.

The funding includes upgrades for two sections of Upper Yorke Road, between Kulpara and Arthurton (35-kilometre section) and from Port Broughton to Bute (25-kilometre section).

Upper Yorke Road is a key route for heavy vehicles, especially during harvest season, and the proposed upgrades are designed to improve safety for the many truck drivers and residents in the Yorke Peninsula who use this road daily.

There will also be improvement works along RM Williams Way between Jamestown and Spalding, as well as the Mallee Highway between Tailem Bend and Geranium.

This 65-kilometre section of the Mallee Highway is a key transport link between Adelaide, Melbourne and the Murraylands agricultural region.

Works on Upper Yorke Road and RM Williams Way are expected to begin in May while works on the Mallee Highway are set to start next month, with all works to be completed in 2025.

Further SA works to begin in 2024 under the Road Safety Program include:
*      Thiele Highway (Kapunda to Eudunda)
*      Main South Road (Sellicks Beach to Second Valley)
*      Lincoln Highway (Whyalla to Cowell)
*      Lincoln Highway (Cowell to Lipson)
*      Lincoln Highway (Lipson to Tumby Bay)

The $168 million investment under the national Road Safety Program is equally funded by the Australian and South Australian governments, with each contributing $84 million.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend